House incumbents who have lost this year (so far)

The 2022 elections have claimed at least two dozen House incumbents as of Sunday morning, though more of them fell in primaries than in the general election.

Among those who lost were Wyoming Rep. Liz Cheney, once a member of the House Republican leadership; New York Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney, chair of the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee efforts this year; and longtime Ohio Rep. Steve Chabot, who was first elected in 1994.

Two Texas Republicans lost under unique circumstances. Rep. Van Taylor withdrew from his race in March after being forced into a runoff; Taylor acknowledged that he had been unfaithful to his wife as he dropped out of the race.

Rep. Mayra Flores won a special election for an open seat under Texas’ old map in June, but was defeated last week by Democratic Rep. Vicente Gonzalez Jr. in the revised 34th District.

This list may not yet be complete. As of this writing, a number of incumbents have yet to clinch victory, including Reps. Lauren Boebert (R-Colo.), David Valadao (R-Calif.), Ken Calvert (R-Calif.), Mike Levin (D-Calif.), Katie Porter (D-Calif.) and David Schweikert (R-Ariz.).

House incumbents who lost Nov. 8

Cindy Axne (D-Iowa)

Steve Chabot (R-Ohio)

**Mayra Flores (R-Texas)

**Al Lawson (D-Fla.)

Elaine Luria (D-Va.)

Sean Patrick Maloney (D-N.Y.)

Tom Malinowski (D-N.J.)

Tom O’Halleran (D-Ariz.)

Incumbents who didn’t win their primaries

Jaime Herrera Beutler (R-Wash.)

**Carolyn Bourdeaux (D-Ga.)

Madison Cawthorn (R-N.C.)

Liz Cheney (R-Wyo.)

**Rodney Davis (R-Ill.)

Bob Gibbs (R-Ohio)

Mondaire Jones (D-N.Y.)

**Andy Levin (D-Mich.)

**Carolyn Maloney (D-N.Y.)

**David McKinley (R-W.Va.)

Peter Meijer (R-Mich.)

**Marie Newman (D-Ill.)

Steven Palazzo (R-Miss.)

Tom Rice (R-S.C.)

Kurt Schrader (D-Ore.)

Van Taylor (R-Texas)

The ** indicates that the lawmaker was defeated by another incumbent.


About the author


Leave a Comment